mRNA Appliance One Week Update

I’ve been wearing the mRNA appliance for one week now. I wear it the recommended 14-16 hours per day. I’m not speaking any better, though I’m getting used to talking. My sleeping is good and bad. Some nights I sleep well and some nights I toss and turn. No different from usual. My tossing and turning could be just as easily attributed to my monkey brain not turning off.

There is no visible difference yet, though two unusual and unexpected things happened this week. While I was eating, I thought I bit into a rock. It was my tooth. The teeth in the back are starting to make contact in new and different ways and it was a weird sensation to actually be able to use more teeth to chew food.

The second thing that happened was that I noticed I could breath through my right nostril for the first time in my life. In the past, when my sinuses were clear, I could push air through my right nostril, but I could never breath through that nostril. I’m noticing every day now that I can breath full breaths with both nostrils. It’s quite miraculous.

Note: I asked my dentist how much they were going to try to expand my palate. She said that the normal distance between the rear molars is 38-42 mm and mine is 30 mm. From what I’ve been reading, it seems 6-8 mm is the maximum that an adult palate can be expanded. What is normal is also relevant as the human jaw structure has changed over time.

Leave a Reply

