Spectacular Flurry

Yesterday, amidst cleaning the house, I went to the back door to gaze outside, which I often do and was graced with a flurry of bird activity.  I have 2 sliding glass doors on the rear of my house that backs up to several wooded lots.  So, even though the property is a mere 1/8 acre, it has the illusion of being much larger and more densely wooded.  I never put curtains up back there because I love the feeling that green back drop provides.  Anyhow,  I was amazed to look out yesterday and see 4 cardinals flitting about, 3 males and 1 female.  One was strutting around on Elvis’s cage.  There were a couple bluejays taunting each other and at the back of the lot, a Pileated woodpecker was hanging out in one of the oak trees.  I’ve only seen that type of woodpecker one other time since I’ve lived here and that was at the beach house where he was making a home in the neighbors palm tree.  The Pileated Woodpecker is sometimes mistaken for the (extinct?) Ivory Billed Woodpecker, both having the large red cap and being large in size, 16″ and 19″ respectively.  The main difference in the birds is the Pileated Woodpecker has a dark bill, white chin and black wings and body.  The Ivory Billed Woodpecker has the white bill, of course, is larger and has white patches on its wings.  So much diversity in my backyard.  What a shame it would have been to just clear cut the entire lot, which is so often the case.  Sorry, no pics.  They were there and gone.       

4 thoughts on “Spectacular Flurry

  1. I have the M to thank for assisting in my bird watching past time. She bought me the Field Guide to the Birds of North America years ago, which sits on my desk today.

  2. well, she’s right. i am a geek. i’ll be the first to admit it. but it’s the bird geekdom that i aspire to.

    i had totally forgotten about that field guide… so glad to hear that it’s getting good use! maybe you could teach that sigther of yours a thing or two…

Leave a Reply

